50awesomethings

Just another WordPress.com site

#44 Doing Nothing All Day

on March 2, 2012

One of my favorite things to do is absolutely nothing, and every couple Saturdays, I get to do just that. I wake up, and look at my alarm clock. It is 10:00. I don’t feel like moving, so I stare at the ceiling. I glance around my room, looking for something to motivate me to get up. I check back with my alarm clock. It is 10:20. My stomach roars like a furious T. Rex. I shuffle down stairs, still in my pjs, with my hair sticking out in many different directions. I grab an apple to munch on. I am too tired to put in the effort to make cereal. I plop down on the couch, turn on the TV, and get comfy.

Hours pass as I do nothing but stare at the TV or play games. I am usually very active, but Saturdays are my days to relax. Every once in a while I get up to snack on something like a tangerine or banana. I think of homework or projects I should be doing, but decide to put them off until Sunday, because this special occasion only comes up once every month, or maybe less. I start to think of doing something active, like playing football, but decide not to because a rerun of one of my favorite shows comes on. I do not regret my decision.

As the sun sets, I think about my day. There isn’t much to think about. It is dinner time, so I make a hamburger and eat it while watching a Lost marathon. Later in the night, I am told to go to bed. I don’t want to get up, but I know it must be done. If I didn’t get off the couch all night, the line between Saturday and the rest of the week would become blurred, and then nothing would ever get done. I hoist myself up off the couch. I pick up all the trash scattered around me, place my dishes by the sink, and brush my teeth. I turn around one last time before going to bed, and see the huge divot I’ve made in the couch. I realize that the day has been truly, absolutely, and in every way…

AWESOME!!!

By Nick Jennings

Leave a Reply

